Canadian Mathematical Society


Atlantic Association for Research in Mathematical Sciences

  Dalhousie University

Hopf Algebras And Related Topics


Workshop/Core session of CMS Summer Meeting 2004


June 12 – 15, 2004

Dalhousie University

Halifax, Canada



The Workshop/Core Session “Hopf Algebras and Related Topics” of CMS meeting 2004 is organized by Yuri Bahturin (Memorial University of Newfoundland, Canada/ Moscow State University, Russia), Margaret Beattie (Mount Allison University, Canada), Luzius Grunenfelder (Dalhousie University, Canada), Susan Montgomery (University of Southern California, USA), Earl Taft (Rutgers University, USA).


The schedule of this event includes a workshop on June 12, with the 3 lectures by Vladislav Kharchenko (National Autonomous University of Mexico), Akira Masuoka (Tsukuba University, Japan), and David Radford (University of Illinois – Chicago, USA), and a conference session with 30 - minute talks by the participants. There is a plenary lecture of CMS meeting on June 15, associated with this session. This lecture will be given by a Professor of Moscow University, Russia, Mikhail Zaicev.


The list of participants include, in addition to nine persons mentioned above, the following mathematicians:


  1. W. Chin (DePaul University, USA)

  2. T. Guedenon (Mt Allison University, Canada)

  3. M. Hazewinkel (Centre for Mathematics and Computer Science, The Netherlands)

  4. E. Jespers (University of Brussels, Belgium)

  5. Y. Kashina (DePaul University, USA)

  6. L. Kauffman (University of Illinois- Chicago, USA)

  7. M. Kochetov (Carleton University, Canada)

  8. L. Krop (DePaul University, USA)

  9. Y. Li (Brock University, Canada)

  10. M. Mastnak (Dalhousie University, Canada)

  11. C. P. Milies (University of Sao Paulo, Brazil)

  12. R. Ng (Iowa State University, USA)

  13. J. Osterburg (University of Cincinnati, USA)

  14. M. Parmenter (Memorial University of Newfoundland, Canada)

  15. D. Riley (University of Western Ontario, Canada)

  16. P. Schauenburg (University of Munchen, Germany)

  17. S. Skryabin (Free University of Brussels, Belgium, Chebotarev Research Institute, Kazan, Russia)

  18. S. Witherspoon (Texas A&M University, USA)

If you are willing to participate, please contact one of the organizers. A limited support is available for the graduate students. Please also visit the web site of the CMS Summer Meeting 2004, where you can find all information about the travel, housing, submission of abstracts, etc.