Memorial University of Newfoundland


Groups, Rings, Lie and Hopf Algebras



The Workshop “Groups, Rings, Lie and Hopf Algebras” will be held in St. John’s, Newfoundland, Canada within the period of May 28 – June 1, 2001.


The Organizing Committee consists of Drs. Yuri Bahturin, Edgar Goodaire, Mike Parmenter and Yiqiang Zhou.


The Workshop is actively supported by Department of Mathematics and Statistics of Memorial University of Newfoundland (Head – Professor Herbert Gaskill) and AARMS (Director – Professor Hermann Brunner).


A partial financial support is provided by the National Program Committee of the Institutes (CRM, Fields and PIMS) and the Memorial University of Newfoundland (Dean of Science, Dean of Graduate Studies, Vice-president (Research) and President).


The list of lecturers/speakers includes the following mathematicians. They all gave their consent to come and deliver lectures/talks.


* Eric Jespers (University of Brussels) “Construction of Noetherian algebras”

*  Susan Montgomery (University of Southern California) “Finite-dimensional semisimple Hopf algebras”

*  Alexander Ol’shanskii (Vanderbilt University) “Isoperimetric functions for groups”

*  Sudarshan Sehgal (University of Alberta) Topic will be announced later

*  Ivan Shestakov (University of Sao Paulo) Superalgebras of brackets and their applications

*  Mikhail Zaicev (Moscow State University) “Polynomial identities and codimension growth”

*  Efim Zelmanov (Yale University) Topic will be announced later.


If you are interested in attending the workshop please contact any organizer using their links above or e-mail our Algebra graduate student Mikhail Kotchetov. You can also fill and send us your application form electronically following this link.